Some love for Bridesmaid Blues and a load of guest posts!

Blimey, it’s been a busy old summer here at Dark Dates towers – but one of the nicest things has been seeing some love for my romcom, Bridesmaid Blues.

This is a bittersweet pleasure: I always felt conflicted about this book: I love it, but when it came out I somehow never managed to give it the push it deserved, so while all of this belated love is fantastic (I’ve been beyond chuffed by some of the feedback) I can’t help being slightly annoyed at myself: if I’d managed to get this kind of momentum when it came out, maybe it would have been a bigger hit at the time? Though I’ll take ‘sleeper hit’ if I need to, honest…!

Reviews for Bridesmaid Blues

But I was still thrilled when Up Close and Literal not only gave me four stars, but also included me in a ‘favourite heroines’ post:

after a couple of pages, I knew that Bridesmaid Blues was one of the funniest books I would ever read. I was laughing 98.9% of the time”

“So here are the reasons why Luce totally rocks.
a). She’s funny. Sorry, huge understatement. She’s downright so-funny-I-laughed-so-hard-while-reading-this-book-thereby-earning-me-looks-that-were-laden-with-concerns-about-my-sanity-from-strangers funny.”

And Kraftireader also loved the book – a corking 5 stars!

“This is the first book I’ve read by Tracey Sinclair and I absolutely adored it.  A perfect read for fans of Bridget Jones and Lindsey Kelk.  A smart, sassy, funny romcom with lots of northern charm.  From the first chapter that had me laughing through the words to the very end of the book. …a fun filled, warm hearted read.”

Bridesmaid Blues Final High res

Guest posts and interviews

This month’s promo – much of it through the lovely group Book Connectors, which I joined on Facebook – includes the following:

A quick Q&A over at Life of a Nerdish Mum

Another at Portobello Book Blog – including a perhaps not that surprising admission on which literary character I would be!

And another interview that covers everything from stand up comedy to Newcastle United over at Up Close and Literal

Over at Shaz’s Book Blog, I talked about how your setting can affect the story

I’ve featured twice on From First Page to Last – once in a fab feature the blog does on books that, for one reason or another, may be under the radar (I went for the American classic Geek Love) and another on the perils and the pleasures of writing longhand.

So a huge thank you to everyone!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s